The Honey Bae’s

img_1705

Scinic Honey All-in-One Ampoule & Cosrx Ultimate Moisturizing Honey Overnight Mask

 

As I’ve mentioned before I tend to get a little overzealous with my tretinoin application from time to time, but just to give you the tl;dr of it: trashed moisture barrier, tears, pain. When it happened again at the end of January/beginning of February I spent a couple of days slathering my face in CeraVe Healing Ointment (which is awesome and doesn’t get nearly enough love), and while that did the heavy lifting of repairing my moisture barrier the first few days I could tell it was going to be a long process if I stuck to just that.

And since most of my skincare philosophy is me just saying “fuck it” and slapping shit on my face I reached for the previously untried bottle of Scinic Honey All in One Ampoule just sitting in my bathroom looking all tempting. In my defense I figured my skin couldn’t get much worse, so why not?

So, did it make my skin worse?

No. No it did not.

I’m not sure I can actually overstate just what a difference this made in my skin. My skin went from dry, flakey, and parched to something resembling normal, which is a feat that was out of reach for literally any other skincare product I own. Within two days of adding this to my routine my skin was back to normal.

But anyway, let’s get down to the brass tacks of it.

Product Information: For those (many) days and nights when the multi-step K-beauty skincare routine just isn’t gonna get done, this multi-tasking ampoule is the perfect go-to. It works over time to replace your toner, essence, booster, and moisturizer! Starring pure bee Honey, Royal Jelly, and Propolis, this jackpot detoxifies, nourishes, brightens, and firms up skin. 250ml

Ingredients: Honey Extract (90%), Glycerin, Water, Niacinamide, Royal Jelly Extract, Propolis Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Polygonum Cuspidatum Root Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra Root Extract, Chamomilla Recutita Flower Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis Leaf Extract, Hydrolyzed silk, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Lactobacillus/ soybean Ferment Extract, Salix Alba Bark Extract, Cinnamomum Cassia Bark Extract, Origanum Vulgare Leaf Extract, Chamaecyparis Obtusa Leaf Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Carbomer, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Triethanolamine, Caramel, Adenosine, Xanthan Gum, Disodium EDTA, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Illicium Verum Fruit Extract, Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol

Price: $15-18

CosDNA

The Good

The ingredients: Even though 90% of the product is honey extract I still feel like the niacinamide, royal jelly extract, and propolis are all high up enough in the ingredients list to be there in effective amounts. My skin loves glycerin so having it as the second ingredient works great for me. Adenosine is a really interesting ingredient you can read more about here, and apparently it’s effective even in tiny amounts, so even with it’s low place in the ingredients list I’m optimistic about it.

The versatility: I was a little dubious about the “all in one” claims, but so far it’s proven true. I can layer this along with my other serums, essences, and oils, and it plays just fine with everything else. I can use this to replace all of that and just follow with a bit of moisturizer and sunscreen and walk right out the door with no worries. And on days when I’m really lazy I can just wash my face, apply a thick layer of this (I do have dry skin after all), and get away with it. I haven’t used it as a sleeping pack yet because of the Cosrx, but frankly it would probably work great.

The value: 250ml is freaking HUGE. Seriously, if someone ever broke into my house I could use this as a deadly weapon to defend myself. I have paid a lot more for lot less and been a lot less impressed (*glares at LJH Vita Propolis Ampoule*)

The Bad

The ingredients: there’s a garden of extracts in it, but frankly I doubt they’re there in any meaningful amounts, so they’re just taking up space. Granted, there’s not a lot of space to take up in the first place, but if the licorice wasn’t competing with 356793 other extracts I might get some benefit from it.

The smell: personally I love it, but it’s definitely fragranced and if that bothers you it could definitely be a deal breaker.

The Ugly

I don’t know??? It’s awesome and I love it.

My Verdict

gw4f1mh

Moving on…

At the same time I ordered the Scinic I also ordered the Cosrx Ultimate Moisturizing Overnight Mask because my usual nighttime moisturizer hadn’t been cutting it for a while, and this is one of the few sleeping masks I can actually use (“cyclops” type silicones are in everything and my skin hates them). So it was just there, and given the success I’d had with the Scinic I decided to slather this on my face too.

Anyway.

Product Information: A deep moisturizing overnight mask enriched with skin enhancing nutrients derived from pure bee honey. This overnight pack has a gentle formula suitable for dry, rough and sensitive skin. With 85% bee propolis content and royal jelly, this overnight mask pack helps get rid of deep seated dirt and bacteria naturally while also strengthening the layers of the skin to prevent damage. This is also a perfect soothing mask to relieve skin from dryness and prevent rough and flaky patches. See visible results the very next morning with COSRX Ultimate Moisturizing Honey Overnight Mask.

Ingredients: Propolis Extract (85%), Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Betaine, 1,2-Hexanediol, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Arginine, Cassia Obtusifolia Seed Extract, Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Carbomer, Sodium Hyaluronate, BeesWax, Allantoin, Panthenol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Adenosine

Price: $13-15

CosDNA

The Good

I’m just going to get this out of the way. These two products look, feel, and are formulated very similarly. Granted the Cosrx doesn’t waste space on extracts that aren’t going to have much positive effect given the minuscule amounts, but still. And I think as far as moisturizing goes, they’re about equal.

But there is one thing the Cosrx does that the Scinic can’t hold a candle to: banish breakouts. This could be because of the arginine in it, or because propolis is great for healing breakouts, but whatever. My skin always purges when I up my tretinoin, and they are deep, painful bastards that take their sweet time emerging and always leave red marks in their wake. After using this one time my skin looked and felt so much better. And instead of spending weeks babying my purging skin, the Cosrx kicked those zits to the curb in a matter of days with nary a red mark in their place and left me with a ~*propolis glow*~ to boot.

The Bad

I go through this stuff quickly, but that could be because I have zero chill and will slather a half teaspoon of it on my face like it’s nothing. The 50 gram jar seems small, especially because it’s sitting next to the Scinic Honey All in One, which as you can see from the picture above just makes it look smaller.

The Ugly

Again, I got nothing.

My Verdict

I’m just going to say, if you’re looking for a nighttime moisturizer that is goddamn amazing at wrangling acne buy this immediately.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Honey Bae’s

Leave a Reply

