LoveMore Pearl Barley & Milk Smoothing Sheet Masks

For those of you not in the know as far as sheet masks go Taiwanese masks are where it’s at. Their masks are thin, silky, drenched in essence. Even better they’re machine packaged from start to finish, so you can avoid the sometimes unethical and unhygienic business practices employed by some Korean brands.

My first venture into the world of T-Beauty masks was My Scheming Snail Essence Hydrating Silk Facial Mask (here), and almost a year later they’re still the only sheet mask I obsessively keep in my mask stash. Every Taiwanese mask I’ve tried since then has seemingly been as good or better, or at the very least I’ve never used a truly disappointing one. Until now, that is.

Lets get into it:

Product information: Barely has long been recognized for its whitening and rehydrating properties. Compared to other herb extracts, it is incomparably rich in proteins, oils, carbohydrates, vitamins B1 and B2, amino acids, barley essence and barley oil. Chosen from the uniquely beautiful and fertile soils of Taiwan, this barley and red barley extract, combined with a pure whitening milk base, removes sebum and leaves the skin feeling toned and glowing.

Ingredients: Water, butylene glycol, glycerin, sea water, xanthin gum, coix lacryma-jobi (Job’s Tears) seed extract, phenoxyethanol, chlorphenesin, milk protein, alcohol, benzoic acid, 4-hydroxyl-butyl ether, hydrolized silk, aesculus hippocastanum (Horse Chestnut) seed extract, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, fragrance, hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid.

Price: $10-20 + shipping

CosDNA

The Good

It uses a fairly standard sheet mask base of water, butylene glycol, and glycerin. Butylene glycol rates 1 out of 5 as a potential acne trigger, but otherwise this formula has nothing that should lead to a breakout (but skin is fickle and ymmv). It has two herbal extracts: Job’s Tears, and horse chestnut. While I wasn’t able to find any information about the benefits of Job’s Tears for skincare that wasn’t marketing, I was able to find a little about Horse Chestnut, which you can read here.

Like all other Taiwanese sheet masks I’ve tried the mask sheets themselves were thin, clingy, silky, and fit nice and tight against the skin. The mask was drenched in essence too, but these are all things I expect of a Taiwanese sheet mask.

The Bad

This literally did nothing for my skin. I went through a box of 5, and other than being wet on my face, nothing. And it didn’t even stay wet as long as my usual Taiwanese masks. But yeah: my skin didn’t even seem to be even slightly more hydrated after using, which was a new experience (not that I expected them to be moisturizing, but damn).

The Ugly

The price. Where I can pick up a box of 8-10 My Scheming, My Beauty Diary, or Tsaio (my personal favourite) masks for $10-15 these LoveMore masks come five to a box for the same price – if you’re lucky; I paid $18 for my box, including shipping. I wouldn’t mind the price if they did anything for my skin, but they don’t.

My Verdict

While Taiwanese masks might be the Cadillac’s of the sheet masking world, I’ll definitely be sticking to my tried and true brands – TsaioMy Scheming, and My Beauty Diary – instead.

 

Leave a Reply

