Cosrx Ultimate Nourishing Rice Overnight Spa Mask

Sigh.

This is not the first time I’ve sat down to write this review. It’s just so depressing. You know I love Cosrx Ultimate Moisturizing Honey Overnight Mask, and I fully expected to write a glowing review for Cosrx’s Ultimate Nourishing Rice Overnight Spa Mask, but alas… it wasn’t meant to be. So… sigh.

Well, this review isn’t going to write itself.

Product Information: Close your eyes and dream of glowing skin. COSRX Ultimate Nourishing Rice Overnight Spa Mask contains 65% rice extract to moisturize and soften skin while you snooze. Niacinamide gently brightens and enhances skin radiance while arginine stimulates collagen. The luxurious texture comforts irritated areas, leaving skin soft, supple, and radiant.

Ingredients: Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Betaine, Niacinamide, Dimethicone, 1,2-Hexanediol, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Elaeis Guineensis(Palm) oil, Elaeis Guineensis(Palm) Kernel Oil, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Arginine, Carbomer, Allantoin, Xanthan Gum.

Price: $14-18

CosDNA

The Good

Ummm… the ingredients list is free of irritating ingredients? Yeah, I’ll go with that. It’s very moisturizing, and combated tret-induced dryness like a champ.

There. Now I don’t feel like such a harpy.

The Bad

It’s sticky. Even if you just apply a thin amount it’s sticky. I mean, not quite like I imagine slathering your face in, I don’t know, Elmer’s glue would be, but it can be unpleasant for sure.

The Ugly

Yeah. Okay. This was a disaster. My skin loved it when I used for the first week. Loved it. I was all soft and glowy, and on nights when I was too tired to do anything with my skin I could cleanse, tone, and apply this and not have to deal with dryness or flakes in the morning.

But that didn’t last. By the middle of the second week I started developing deep, painful, papule-type zits all along my jaw line, which is where I normally break out, so I tried to brush it off as tretinoin purging. But then I started breaking out all over and my skin never does that unless it’s a product reaction.

I stopped using the Cosrx hoping against hope that it was something else in my routine, but within days it was abundantly clear this sleeping mask was the cause of all my problems. Now, 3 or 4 days later, – after liberal application of BHA and Vicco Turmeric Cream – the acne along my jaw is about 80% healed and the rest is basically gone completely.

Coincidentally, there was a recent post on the r/asianbeauty sub-reddit about the Cosrx sleeping masks, and – spoiler alert – I was not the only one to have serious problems with the rice mask. Similarly when I posted about it on my Instagram most of the comments I’ve gotten were along the same lines as my experience.

Apparently, it’s really common for this product to break people out, which, boy, was that news to me! But I’d honestly never read that about it, and even Googling reviews of it’s effects on acne-prone skin specifically doesn’t really produce too much information.

I do think this is a good lesson in “your milage may vary” skincare though. CosDNA lists 3 ingredients as potential acne triggers (none exceeding a 2 on a scale of 1-5), and none of them are acne triggers for my skin. I can happily slather myself in butylene glycol and fatty alcohols and sunflower oil with nary a thought about it. But the rice extract – which isn’t flagged as an acne trigger or irritant – seems to really disagree with my skin (and plenty of other people’s).

My Verdict

If your skin isn’t even remotely acne prone, and it is dry this can be a great product for you. However, if your skin is acne prone AVOID, AVOID, AVOID! I’ll stick to eating my rice, thank you very much.

 

rice

 

2 thoughts on “Cosrx Ultimate Nourishing Rice Overnight Spa Mask

Leave a Reply

