2 Weeks, 2 Dozen Eggs

scrambled-eggs-step-1

Mostly I use this blog to ramble about skincare in an effort to not bore every person around me in real life with it instead. But occasionally I’ll talk about other things, like food.

Personally, I really like food. I spend a lot of me time cooking, or tending my backyard food garden, or reading about cooking and gardening. I know not everyone is passionate about it, but for me spending hours a day cooking is anything but a burden.

Now, is my diet a model for healthy eating?

laughing-gifs-jonah-jameson

It’s not, but I’m trying.

Which is where the eggs come in. I really struggle with getting enough protein, especially in the morning since I don’t like eating meat that early in the day (I find it sits unpleasantly heavy in my stomach). But I also need the protein to feel full and keep me from making poor food decisions later in the day. So in order to solve this conundrum I’ve been eating 2 eggs every morning.

I should point out that prior to this I would usually make myself a very large smoothie for breakfast and force myself to eat some breakfast sausage as well. By lunch I was always unreasonably hungry, and therefore more likely to make unhealthy choices. The only thing that’s changed is that I replaced the sausage with eggs, and yet I’m much more satiated now.

Whereas before I would need a large, not necessarily healthy lunch to feel full and carry me through the rest of the day, the last few weeks all I need is a hearty snack – like a baked sweet potato – around noon, and something similar around 4pm to sustain me through a workout and carry me to dinner afterwards.

This really shouldn’t be surprising considering this:

Two separate studies have shown that eating eggs in the morning (compared to a breakfast of bagels) can help you lose fat without trying.
In one of these studies, 30 overweight or obese women ate either bagels or eggs for breakfast (1).
The egg group ended up eating fewer calories at lunch, the rest of the day and for the next 36 hours.
Put simply, the eggs were so fulfilling that the women automatically ate fewer calories at subsequent meals.
In another study, 152 overweight men and women were split into groups. One group ate eggs, the other ate bagels… both groups were on a weight loss diet (2).
After 8 weeks, the egg group had lost significantly more weight than the bagel group:
  • 65% more weight loss (2 lbs vs 1.3 lbs).
  • 61% greater reduction in BMI.
  • 34% greater reduction in waist circumference.
  • 16% greater reduction in body fat percentage.
The difference in weight loss wasn’t huge, but it clearly shows that simple things like changing one meal can have a small effect. (source)

Also this, though not specific to eggs:

There is a lot of evidence that protein can increase fat burning and reduce hunger, leading to automatic weight loss.
In fact, studies show that protein boosts metabolism more than any other macronutrient (9, 10).
One of the reasons for that is that it takes the body more calories to digest and make use of protein, than it does fat and carbs.
Protein also increases satiety, leading to significantly reduced hunger (11).
In one study, increasing protein to 30% of calories lead to an automatic decrease in calorie intake of 441 calories per day (12).

I know that eggs can get a bad rap nutritionally, though it’s not really deserved. I also make sure to buy certified humane eggs, which may or may not be healthier, but definitely make me feel better about what I’m eating.

And I should feel good about what I’m eating because in addition to lots of complete protein, eggs also offer stellar amounts of choline, B vitamins, vitamin E, vitamin D, vitamin A, zinc, selenium, and omega fatty acids.

Plus, they’re just very tasty 🙂

Related

 

 

Leave a Reply

